The last drop

Yeow! I took a line drive just below the knee last night.  And I’m angry with myself about it.  Looking back at the moments after the ball ripped off the bat I remember 3 things, seeing the ball coming at me, knowing I should be able to catch the ball and if I can’t catch it then to stop it.  But most of all to I remember feeling like a kid again and that I should avoid catching it.  What a stupid instinct, to avoid catching the ball and put myself in it’s path.  When I was growing up I was one of the kids who were “afraid of the ball” and it’s apparent that that fear is still ingrained in me.  Instead of trying to catch the ball with my glove I stepped into its path. I’m not going to let my son down, I’ll train him to not be afraid of a ball

IMG_8959

Leave a Reply

